Shelby Clark Awarded the NCC Janet Sprickman Scholarship for 2017

Posted: Apr 04, 2017

The ASSE Foundation Board of Trustees awarded over $303,000 to 116 individuals in 2017. The National Capital Chapter annually sponsors an award in memorial of Janet Sprickman and this year’s recipient is Shelby Clark, an undergraduate student majoring in Environmental Health at Western Carolina University.

This scholarship is named after the 1971-72 National Capital Chapter President, Janet H. Sprickman, who was a pioneer in the safety and health field as evidenced by her significant professional career at a time when women were rarely given high level responsibilities or opportunities.

Here’s what Shelby had to say about receiving this award:

“After graduation I will be attending the University of Iowa to obtain a Masters Degree in Industrial Hygiene. I hope to one day become a Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH) and Certified Safety Professional (CSP). This goal has many steps along the way and contributions like this scholarship are what make my success possible.  I will be using this scholarship to go towards my tuition and fees at the University of Iowa.

I am very grateful to have received the Janet Sprickman Award.”

The members of NCC-ASSE offer our congratulations to Shelby!